Skip to content
January 23, 2013 / Kate Gross

Bad verse, and a new chemo haircut

Tell me I look like Anne Hathaway,

Tell me this snow in my head will lift someday,

Or find me a small boat to go far away

To a place where poems scan again, and the weather’s fine again, and life is normal-sized again.

Tell me I look like Michelle from Dawson’s creek

That will make me feel less bleak

And help me style my crop to make it chic

And we’ll go out and drink red wine, and I’ll feel fine, and write better rhyme

Tell me I look like Emma Watson

Then clear my head of all this flotsam

Which is just debris from the toxic storms

And then we’ll got to a beautiful place and sit quietly, just you and me.

26 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. lucymarianne / Jan 23 2013 4:41 pm

    We have identical haircuts now (the final stage of the big chop was in August), and mine was a non-chemo-driven choice, so we should celebrate looking fabulously gamine and cheekboney. As you do.

  2. emma / Jan 23 2013 4:44 pm

    Wow, I LOVE it – makes your eyes look huge and beautiful. I’m thinking Mia Farrow (in her youthful pretty days before Woody Allen’s incetuous relationship drove her a bit loopy and plastic-surgery)

    http://glam.co.uk/2011/04/cream-of-the-crops-celebs-cropped-hairstyles/various-4/

  3. Jenny / Jan 23 2013 4:45 pm

    Very Anne Hathaway, though considerably less ravaged by having to sell your teeth and become a prostitute. I like it – very elfin! And Watson/flotsam is inspired.

  4. Jess / Jan 23 2013 5:02 pm

    You look AMAZING! Nothing like having cancer to spur you on to striking haircut of stuningness! Xxx beautiful writing xxx maybe a glass of wine in the sun on the backs at john’s away from the noisier students? X

  5. Stine / Jan 23 2013 5:28 pm

    Excellent pixie crop! I second Emma with regards to Mia Farrow look (including the bit about Woody Allen). I tried it myself once, but my jowls just made me look a bit like a fat prepubesecent boy. This is more like it!

  6. Milly / Jan 23 2013 6:47 pm
  7. Annie Gibson / Jan 23 2013 6:50 pm

    your hair still looks nicer than mine Kate and mine is cut like that through choice. I would’nt mind being Anne Hathaway think of being in Hugh Jackmans arms I know you will like that x

  8. Caroline Al Shammas / Jan 23 2013 7:29 pm

    Sexy! You know I’ve ALWAYS loved a crop, having had one myself a couple of times (albeit ill-advisedly, given my jawline is somewhat less defined than yours). Suits you so well, with your pretty little doll face. I particularly love it when women with very short hair wear very girly clothes, pretty dresses etc. Sorry to hear about the flotsam and debris of the chemical storms. Sending my love xx

  9. Ruth T / Jan 23 2013 7:57 pm

    You look stunning Kate!

  10. Georgie / Jan 23 2013 8:14 pm

    You look beautiful Kate xx

  11. wait4kate06 / Jan 23 2013 8:47 pm

    Lovely, lyrical Kate, you really do look beauuutiful! Be buoyed up, and sail away from the toxic storms. xx

  12. Sasha Howard / Jan 23 2013 8:48 pm

    Sorry it’s jelly and custard on the inside but it’s peaches and cream on the outside. You look beautiful xx

  13. Katy / Jan 23 2013 9:41 pm

    VERY Rosemary’s Baby – love it. Mia Farrow changed fashion with this very haircut and it really suits you. Lots of love xx

  14. Ruth / Jan 23 2013 9:46 pm

    Love it Kate. Gwyneth, Anne, Mia, Emma…hard to choose. Jealous of blondness. Xxx

  15. Lesley / Jan 23 2013 9:59 pm

    Love it! The ‘do and the verse.

  16. lucymarianne / Jan 23 2013 10:17 pm

    I forgot to say that this is my second crop of my adult life. The first was when I was nearly three stone heavier and my head (unbeknownst to me; I hadn’t noticed putting the weight on and just thought I was “curvy”) looked like a basketball with painted-on hair. It was so not a good look. So double scoooooooore! for you looking so lovely.

  17. Tiff / Jan 23 2013 10:37 pm

    I give you Halle Berry, Danni Minogue, Rhianna (although maybe hold back on the black hair dye), Renee Zellweger, Kylie, Gwyneth and Carey Mulligan
    Frankly you out-gorgeous all of them!
    May the moonlight make your snow sparkle xxx

  18. kateelisabethgross / Jan 23 2013 10:49 pm

    As if by magic the sustained attention and flattery dedicated to my Carey Mulligan/Caroline Vent tribute cut has lifted me out of the slough of despond. Thanks everyone, your work is well done. Further pics to follow – it seems I can make myself look really quite like Princess Di if I angle my head towards the iPad wistfully. I shall enjoy this look, and stealing Billy’s hair products, whilst I can…

  19. Polly C-H / Jan 24 2013 9:57 pm

    You look beautiful, as always. Mia Farrow but without the demonic children (I assume!) xxx

  20. Rhys / Jan 27 2013 6:25 pm

    Hathaway Schmathaway.

    Kate you are clearly channelling the absolutely lovely Jean Seberg (off of A Bout de Souffle): http://pinterest.com/pin/75153887503229621/

  21. Rick / Jan 28 2013 11:55 am

    I was hoping to be the first man to comment on your haircut but Rhys has pipped me to it!

    You look great, Kate. And you are not alone – Nadia has just got (most) of her hair off too, and you both look extremely stylish. xx

  22. angela clist / Jan 28 2013 4:33 pm

    Kate – wow! That cut really suits you – totally beautiful. Lots of love, Angela.

  23. David / Jan 28 2013 5:39 pm

    I love the new hairdo! You really good, makes you look much younger too. I’m not sure you’ve ever really changed your hairstyle in all the years I’ve known you. Or is that just bloke-blindness… x x

  24. Lou / Jan 30 2013 12:26 pm

    I’m thinking Carey Mulligan! Gorgeous btw x

  25. Kirstan / Feb 5 2013 4:48 pm

    Kate, you were made for that haircut – big Anne H eyes, gorgeous cheekbones. My husband asked me to cut my hair like that after we got married. He thinks it’s the Sharon Stone sexy look. Okay, I got the cut but didn’t necessarily live up to the rest of his hopes, but still… the cut is a winner. Love and hugs, Kirstan

  26. Anthony / Feb 8 2013 10:26 pm

    You look great Kate, really suits you!

Leave a Reply

